Release Review: Arch Enemy – War Eternal

The metal community was stunned by the announcement that legendary vocalist Angela Gossow stepped down as vocalist of Arch Enemy to spend more time with her family and to develop her artist management roster. She will however remain the business manager of Arch Enemy. Her replacement (picked by Gossow) was former The Agonist singer Alissa White-Gluz, an announcement that had mixed response. Fortunately for the fans of Arch Enemy, Alissa (a friend of Gossow) has silenced the critics and has been accepted into the fold. But how did the album fair?

The album has been a baptism of fire for their new line-up but they have risen to the challenge and made a good album and a solid debut for the new team. But that’s it, a good debut for the band and nothing more, nothing less. It’s a decent album and definitely worth a listen if you’re a fan of death metal and Arch Enemy. But it’s just business as usual with this album, the epic solos and riffs sound like leftovers from previous albums while the mid section of the album is forgettable. Still, a lot of the songs are anthemic and the musicianship is to be applauded. They certainly haven’t lost their touch and are not afraid to let loose and sound demonic when needed, it’s absolutely a grower. Maybe I shouldn’t be surprised that the album is standard melodic death metal with a kick to it, as it’s what Arch Enemy do. It’s not genre-defining or special (well it is in some ways because of the new vocalist silencing the doubters). In fact it’s easy to believe this album might not have gotten this attention if Gossow was still the vocalist. It’s a good album there is no denying it, but it’s not truly unique. It will still warrant future listens where it’ll hopefully grow on me, as Arch Enemy still have many years left in the tank.

Best Songs: “Never Forgive, Never Forget”, “You Will Know My Name”, “On and On”

Arch Enemy War Eternal

1. Tempore Nihil Sanat (Prelude In F Minor)
2. Never Forgive, Never Forget
3. War Eternal
4. As The Pages Burn
5. No More Regrets
6. You Will Know My Name
7. Graveyard Of Dreams
8. Stolen Life
9. Time Is Black
10. On And On
11. Avalanche
12. Down To Nothing
13. Not Long For This World

Arch Enemy New Band Photo 1

Arch Enemy are:
Alissa White-Gluz – Vocals
Michael Amott – Guitar
Daniel Erlandsson – Drums
Sharlee D’Angelo – Bass
Nick Cordle – Guitar

More Arch Enemy:

About Jack (819 Articles)
I am a recent graduate from the University of Essex in Colchester where by the luck of Odin I met the editor, Dom. I first got into metal when I was 13 and now I am 22 and own an uncountable amount of band T-shirts. I also regularly attend gigs (local and in neighbouring areas) as well as festivals. My musical taste is varied; I like nu metal (my first love), thrash, black, death, doom, folk, sludge (my favourite genre), symphonic and many more of the multiple genres that metal has to offer, I even like some metalcore (I know it's a dirty word within some metal circles but some of it is outstanding). One of my most memorable metal moments was meeting Grand Magus at the Bloodstock signing tent and having the whole tent to myself, spending a few minutes talking to them.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.