Night Demon – Curse of the Damned

Night Demon has come out of the shadows and this beast isn’t afraid of the light!

I’ve had Night Demon from Ventura, California on my metal radar ever since I met bassist/vocalist Jarvis Leatherby last year at Ragnarökkr Metal Apocalypse Festival. I was impressed with Jarvis’ views on metal. We got in touch over the summer and he sent me the band’s self-titled EP to review. I was blown away by the group’s NWOBHM throwback appeal. I played the album all summer long and hooked more than a few friends on Night Demon’s appealing style. Apparently, I wasn’t the only one who thought Night Demon oozed potential. The band was recently signed to Century Media (North America) and SPV/Steamhammer (Europe) last fall and released their debut album, Curse of the Damned on January 16th in Germany and January 19th in the rest of Europe, with a North American/world release date set for February 10th.

I was expecting Curse of the Damned to continue where the EP release left off and I was not disappointed. This music is straight up heavy metal – think Iron Maiden meets Diamond Head with a splash of Metallica (early).

I appreciate how the bass lines are prominent on this recording and the unusual guitar work of Brent Woodward, which has that Brian Tatler (Diamond Head) feel. The solid drum work of Dustin Squires really completes the Night Demon sound. This band is known for their live performances and I think this new line-up will be their best yet.

The lyrics have a cheesy quality but are very catchy and encourage repeat listens. Tales of murder, demons and Satan all sung in Leatherby’s disarming drawl. I wish the vocals were turned up a bit higher on a few tracks. When these trademark vocals are accompanied by a memorable beat and a blazing guitar solo, we have a fist-pumping jam that is impressive to say the least. Highlight tracks for me are: “Screams in the Night”, “Curse of the Damned”, “Satan”, “Killer”, “Mastermind” and “Livin’ Dangerous”.

Night Demon has come out of the shadows and this beast isn’t afraid of the light! Check out Curse of the Damned before it’s too late! \m/

Night Demon - Curse of the Damned

Track List:
1. Screams in the Night
2. Curse of the Damned
3. Satan
4. Full Speed Ahead
5. The Howling Man
6. Heavy Metal Heat
7. Livin’ Dangerous
8. Mastermind
9. Run for Your Life
10. Killer
11. Save Me Now

Night Demon are:
Dustin Squires – Drums
Jarvis Leatherby – Vocals, Bass
Brent Woodward – GuitarsNight DemonMore Night Demon:


David Halbe
About David Halbe (285 Articles)
I live in the USA and I'm a fan of all types of metal: Black, Death, Hair, Thrash, Nu, Core, Sleeze, Stoner, Groove, etc... I have a huge collection of heavy metal CDs and I have been attending shows since 1986. Nothing is too extreme or poserish for me, if it rocks it rocks. Metal is the music we all have in common, it is our lifeblood. \m/

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.