Motörhead – Bad Magic

"Most bands would run out of steam for their 22nd album, but Motörhead seem to have gained steam."

It’s hard to believe that Motörhead have been around for 40 years,but to some it seems even longer. Motörhead have been part of the fabric of rock and metal culture for as long as most of us can remember, with 40 years of playing and 22 albums under their belt, it is hard to imagine a world without Lemmy and co. rocking out. Nonetheless, all good things come to an end and it looks like Motörhead’s journey will soon be reaching that. If this journey is coming to a close, Bad Magic is far from a disappointing conclusion.

Most bands would run out of steam for their 22nd album, but Motörhead seem to have gained steam. From Lemmy’s opening war cry of “Victory of Die” it’s clear they are doing what they have always done; refused to slow down and change their style to fit the current trend, never compromising in the process. Bad Magic fits in nicely with the band’s classic material and contains the same fire and passion that we have come to love Motörhead for. Sure it sounds like the material we’ve all come to appreciate, but it brings out such a grand sense of joy and nostalgia you can’t help but adore it.

Queen‘s Brian May even pops up for a guitar solo on “The Devil”, one of the best songs on the album. This is an album to raise your glass of Jack Daniels and Coke to and sing the lyrics to along with “Victory or Die”, “Thunder and Lightning”, “Firestorm Hotel” and pretty much every other song on the album. But it’s not all speed and fury as there are also slower songs which may surprise some listeners, “Till The End”, is a sombre-sounding song full of pain; while “Choking on Their Screams”, is an alien-inspired menacing sounding track with some ferocious snarling from Lemmy. Ending the album is a cover of The Rolling Stones Sympathy for the Devil,” which is a strong contender for best cover song of the year. Lemmy adds a new layer to the Stones’ classic, making the song their own.

If Motörhead are retiring, then Bad Magic is a fine note to end on that. It’s a grand way to end their career and is something the band can be proud of. Lemmy, put your feet up and have a rest, you’ve earned it. Your legacy is intact.

Best Tracks: “Victory or Die,” “The Devil,” “Till The End,” “Sympathy for the Devil.”

Motorhead Bad Magic

Track listing:
1. Victory or Die
2. Thunder & Lightning
3. Fire Storm Hotel
4. Shoot Out All of Your Lights
5. The Devil
6. Electricity
7. Evil Eye
8. Teach Them How to Bleed
9. Till the End
10. Tell Me Who to Kill
11. Choking on Your Screams
12. When the Sky Comes Looking for You
13. Sympathy for the Devil

Motörhead is:
Lemmy – Lead Vocals/Bass Guitar
Phil “Wizzö” Campbell – Guitar, Piano on “Sympathy for the Devil
Mikkey Dee – Drums

Motorhead Band Pic 2015

More Motörhead:

About Jack (818 Articles)
I am a recent graduate from the University of Essex in Colchester where by the luck of Odin I met the editor, Dom. I first got into metal when I was 13 and now I am 22 and own an uncountable amount of band T-shirts. I also regularly attend gigs (local and in neighbouring areas) as well as festivals. My musical taste is varied; I like nu metal (my first love), thrash, black, death, doom, folk, sludge (my favourite genre), symphonic and many more of the multiple genres that metal has to offer, I even like some metalcore (I know it's a dirty word within some metal circles but some of it is outstanding). One of my most memorable metal moments was meeting Grand Magus at the Bloodstock signing tent and having the whole tent to myself, spending a few minutes talking to them.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.