Prong – X-No Absolutes

While I believe the vocals are going to split Prong fans, this is a huge step for the band and their music.

Prong has been puncturing audiences around the world since 1986 and there seems to be no stopping their industrial metal machine. X-No Absolutes is the eleventh studio album by the band and I believe it’s one of their best.

As a follow up to Songs from the Black Hole, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. Listening to the last album, a release of cover songs, got me back into old-school Goth and Punk acts like Discharge and Killing Joke but X-No Absolutes is more of a metal-influenced album. It honestly took me a couple of listens to fully appreciate this release and its direction.

While I believe the vocals are going to split Prong fans, this is a huge step for the band and their music. I’m all for it. This album further solidifies Tommy Victor as a premier vocalist and allows the band to open up the Prong sound. Tracks like “No Absolutes”, “Do Nothing”, “Ice Runs Through My Veins” and “With Dignity” enhance Prong’s trademark style because they give the band a commercial quality which holds a real air of legitimacy.

X- No Absolutes still features the industrial thrash attack we know but it’s not the focal point of the album. The real nucleus is the songs themselves. A lot of thought has been put into the sequencing of this release and it shows. Highlight tracks for me, in addition to those aforementioned are: “Ultimate Authority”, “Cut and Dry” “Soul Sickness” and “Worth Pursuing”

Prong’s new release may divide its fans and that’s a good thing because they’ll be talking. In the meantime Tommy Victor will have cemented his place amongst the true metal icons. His contributions to music are unquestioned, a pioneering artist who has infected more than a few genres while keeping the Prong moniker relevant. \m/


Track List:

01. Ultimate Authority
02. Sense Of Ease
03. Without Words
04. Cut And Dry
05. No Absolutes
06. Do Nothing
07. Belief System
08. Soul Sickness
09. In Spite Of Hindrances
10. Ice Runs Through My Veins
11. Worth Pursuing
12. With Dignity
13. Universal Law (digipak bonus track)

Prong are:
Tommy Victor – guitar, vocals
Jason Christopher – bass
Art Cruz – drums

Prong band 2016

More Prong:
Official Website

David Halbe
About David Halbe (287 Articles)
I live in the USA and I'm a fan of all types of metal: Black, Death, Hair, Thrash, Nu, Core, Sleeze, Stoner, Groove, etc... I have a huge collection of heavy metal CDs and I have been attending shows since 1986. Nothing is too extreme or poserish for me, if it rocks it rocks. Metal is the music we all have in common, it is our lifeblood. \m/

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.