The Treatment – Generation Me

A throwback to the past with a modern twist, a really fun album from start to finish.

The Treatment have a very impressive CV for a band who only formed in 2008. They’ve supported Alice Cooper, Steel Panther, Thin Lizzy, Kiss, Motley Crue. Status Quo, W.A.S.P and Slash alongside playing festivals such as Download, Sonisphere, Steelhouse and Ozzfest Japan. But in 2015 vocalist Matt Jones and guitarist Fabian “Dee” Dammers quit the band, leaving some fans in doubt over the future of the act. But the show must go on and enter vocalist Mitchell Emms (who British readers may remember as a Quarter Finalist from The Voice) and guitarist Toa Grey. With a new line-up, fire in their bellies and a tour on the horizon, Generation Me is another step in the right direction for the lads.

Opening with ‘Let It Begin’, the song sets the tone for the rest of the album; a classic-rock-inspired romp that is perfect for a night on the town. What stands out is Emms’ voice, it isn’t just another generic classic rock voice, it’s a damn good one. It’s easy to imagine Emms commanding an arena with his voice while throwing the horns in the air. The 11 songs on the album are really infectious and fun, with an AC/DC and Airbourne vibe running through the album. But it’s not all fast-paced foot tappers, there are slower stadium fillers like the beautiful ‘Backseat Heartbeat’, that will no doubt have fans singing back at the end. The album is not perfect by any means with the first half being stronger than the second half and repetition kicking in towards the end, but aside from that it’s still a great record.

A throwback to the past with a modern twist, a really fun album from start to finish; with expertly crafted solos, soaring melodies, infectious choruses and a great voice leading the pack. A finely crafted rock album that shows a triumphant return to form. Any doubts about the future of this band should now be squashed by this excellent album.

Best Tracks: Let It Begin, Generation Me, Backseat Heartbeat, Cry Tough

Generation Me - The Treatment

Track List:
01. Let It Begin
02. The Devil
03. Tell Us The Truth
04. Generation Me
05. Backseat Heartbeat
06. Cry Tough
07. We Are Beautiful
08. I Know She Knows
09. Bloodsucker
10. Better Think Again
11. Light The Sun

The Treatment are:
Mitchel Emms – Vocals
Tagore Grey – Guitar
Tao Grey – Guitar
Dhani Mansworth – Drums
Rick ‘Swoggle’ Newman – Bass

The Treatment 2016

More The Treatment:

About Jack (819 Articles)
I am a recent graduate from the University of Essex in Colchester where by the luck of Odin I met the editor, Dom. I first got into metal when I was 13 and now I am 22 and own an uncountable amount of band T-shirts. I also regularly attend gigs (local and in neighbouring areas) as well as festivals. My musical taste is varied; I like nu metal (my first love), thrash, black, death, doom, folk, sludge (my favourite genre), symphonic and many more of the multiple genres that metal has to offer, I even like some metalcore (I know it's a dirty word within some metal circles but some of it is outstanding). One of my most memorable metal moments was meeting Grand Magus at the Bloodstock signing tent and having the whole tent to myself, spending a few minutes talking to them.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.