Stuck Mojo – Here Come The Infidels

"If you like your music loud, catchy, energetic, and fun then this album ticks all the right boxes."

Forming in 1989, before there was Rage Against The Machine and Limp Bizkit, ‘the four horseman of the Atlanta music scene’, Stuck Mojo formed and left their mark on music. They became rap metal pioneers, they played around 280 shows a year and supported many other legendary acts including Machine Head, Life of Agony, Type O Negative, Testament, and most notably Pantera. Though they have come and gone over the years with different line-ups, Rich Ward‘s devotion to Stuck Mojo has not waived and in 2016 we are here with the band’s seventh album Here Come the Infidels. 

When I spoke to Rich Ward earlier on in the year he said “I have a real passion for Stuck Mojo because it fulfills two of my basic food groups which is super loud and aggressive and the other part is super offensive,” and Here Come the Infidels does that. How much you will like this album depends on how offensive you will find the material. Songs like ‘Rape Whistle’ and ‘Business of Hate’ are likely to annoy and offend many (but Stuck Mojo aren’t exactly going to be bothered about this). The lyrics though are really catchy and memorable, when seeing the band live at Bloodstock I knew almost every lyric despite only listening to the album a few times.

What Stuck Mojo love to create is music that’s bouncy, entertaining and heavy and the album passes this section with flying colours. It may not be a patch on some of the classic songs like ‘Rising’ and ‘Not Promised Tomorrow,’ but I believe this songs will in time be considered in the same breath. Rich Ward’s guitar playing is once again criminally underrated and Frank Fontsere‘s drum work is as reliable as ever. New member Len Sonnier fits in nicely on bass and vocalist Robby J. Fonts makes the songs his own. The album occasionally falls into the bland radio rock category (‘Destroyer’ and ‘Blasphemy’) but every album has its duds. Stuck Mojo and their fans should be proud of the album; it’s infectious southern groove makes an enjoyable record that is perfect for people who are new to Stuck Mojo.

It doesn’t have the technically wizardry of Meshuggah or Periphery or the theatrics of Devin Townsend but this album doesn’t need that. If you like your music loud, catchy, energetic and fun then this LP ticks all the right boxes.

Best Tracks: ‘Charles Bronson,’ ‘Verbal Combat,’ ‘Fire Me,’ ‘I Am Legion’

Track List:
1. Here Come The Infidels
2. Rape Whistle
3. Charles Bronson
4. The Business Of Hate
5. Verbal Combat
6. Destroyer
7. Worst Person On Earth
8. Fire Me
9. I Am Legion
10. Tamborine
11. Blasphemy

Robby J. Fonts – Vocals
Rich Ward – Guitar/Backing Vocals
Frank Fontsere – Drums
Len Sonnier – Bass/Backing Vocals


More Stuck Mojo:
Rich Ward Facebook

About Jack (874 Articles)
I am a recent graduate from the University of Essex in Colchester where by the luck of Odin I met the editor, Dom. I first got into metal when I was 13 and now I am 22 and own an uncountable amount of band T-shirts. I also regularly attend gigs (local and in neighbouring areas) as well as festivals. My musical taste is varied; I like nu metal (my first love), thrash, black, death, doom, folk, sludge (my favourite genre), symphonic and many more of the multiple genres that metal has to offer, I even like some metalcore (I know it's a dirty word within some metal circles but some of it is outstanding). One of my most memorable metal moments was meeting Grand Magus at the Bloodstock signing tent and having the whole tent to myself, spending a few minutes talking to them.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.