Municipal Waste – Slime and Punishment

Their best effort since The Fatal Feast.

Just when you thought modern metal was being left at the garbage dump, along comes Municipal Waste with a new mouth full of rubbish!

Slime and Punishment is Municipal Waste’s sixth full-length release and I think it’s their best effort since 2003’s Waste Em’ All! Attitude is the biggest driving force behind this music. Municipal Waste have always held a comedic aspect to their effort but things are more malevolent this time around. There’s a sarcastic aggression to this assault that is obvious to anyone associated with metal. This is the underdog sporting a true ‘Us Versus Them’ mentality!

Vocalist Tony Foresta has the ‘air’ of somebody who just doesn’t give a fuck. His aggressive vocals may be atypical for music but they are nevertheless effective. The riffs of Ryan Waste all have that “thrash or be thrashed” attitude. All the songs are short, capitalizing on the ‘thrash factor’ and let’s be honest that’s exactly what you want from a band of this stature. An album under thirty minutes is sheer perfection, anything over waters down the aggressive attack.  Highlight tracks for me are: “Breathe Grease”, “Shrednecks”, “Bourbon Discipline”, “Parole Violators”, “Slime and Punishment”, “Low Tolerance” and “Death Proof”.

It’s been a few years since Municipal Waste has hit the studio and I’ll admit I like this album way more than The Fatal Feast (2012), the lyrical concepts are way easier to relate to.

Mixed and mastered by former Metal Blade legend and famed engineer Bill Metoyer (Slayer, Helstar, Fates Warning, Armored Saint, Hirax etc.), this album is as thrashing as it is entertaining. Check out Slime and Punishment and let Municipal lay waste to you! \m/

Municipal Waste - Slime and Punishment

Track list:
01. Breathe Grease
02. Enjoy The Night
03. Dingy Situations
04. Shrednecks
05. Poison The Preacher
06. Bourbon Discipline
07. Parole Violators
08. Slime And Punishment
09. Amateur Sketch
10. Excessive Celebration
11. Low Tolerance
12. Under The Waste Command
13. Death Proof
14. Think Fast

Municipal Waste are:
Tony Foresta – Vocals
Ryan Waste – Guitar
Nick Poulos – Guitar
Land Phil – Bass
Dave Witte – Drums

David Halbe
About David Halbe (287 Articles)
I live in the USA and I'm a fan of all types of metal: Black, Death, Hair, Thrash, Nu, Core, Sleeze, Stoner, Groove, etc... I have a huge collection of heavy metal CDs and I have been attending shows since 1986. Nothing is too extreme or poserish for me, if it rocks it rocks. Metal is the music we all have in common, it is our lifeblood. \m/

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.